Skip to content

Override interface configuration

  1. Go to Routing > RIP and click Select interface under the Override interface configuration section.
  2. Enter interface configuration details.

    Interface

    Select the interface for which you want to override the default configuration.

    RIP version

    Option Description
    Send Select the RIP versions used for sending the routing updates.

    You can select V1, V2, or both. The selection overrides the version selected in the global configuration settings.

    The default setting is V2.

    Receive Select the RIP versions used for receiving the routing updates.

    You can select V1, V2, or both. The selection overrides the version selected in the global configuration settings.

    The default setting is V2 and V2.

    Split horizon Turn on to prevent routing loops.

    This is turned off by default.

    Poisoned reverse (Only applicable when Split Horizon is turned on.)

    Turn on to prevent the device from sending packets through the route that has become invalid.

    This is turned off by default.

    Authentication Click to turn on authentication of RIP packets and enter a password.

    RIPv1 protocol doesn't support authentication. If you select authentication for RIPv1 interfaces, they send route updates but won't accept routes. If you select both versions, RIPv2 continues to work with authentication.

    We recommend that you configure RIPv1 on a different interface if you select authentication for a RIPv2 interface.

    Passive mode Turn on to prevent the interface from sending RIP advertisements.

    This is turned off by default.

  3. Click Save.